Important updates to Saskatchewan massage therapy regulation

Forming a Regulatory College In Alberta

Massage therapy regulation in Alberta has been in development for over 13 years.

Many steps have been taken toward regulation by the three massage member based Associations in Alberta:

  • Natural Health Practitioners of Canada (NHPC)
  • Massage Therapist Association of Alberta (MTAA)
  • Remedial Massage Therapists Association (RMTA)

Over the last three years, collaborative discussion between the three Associations has led to significant progress in forming a regulatory College. The Associations have agreed to grandfathering criteria that was included in the information that was sent to the Government of Alberta.

In July of 2016, the three Associations in Alberta formed a Coalition in order to deliver a joint application for regulation to the government, which outlined the transitional entry for practising therapists, costs to operate a College, standards of competency, etc.

Working collectively, the Coalition began a consultation process with their membership bases to ensure that everyone had the opportunity to share their views on each aspect of the proposed legislation.

In 2016, the Coalition formed the Transitional Council for the College of Massage Therapists of Alberta (TC-CMTA) in order to begin a more in-depth process that included:

  • consultation with other professional associations and lobby groups within Alberta
  • consultation with educational institutions offering massage therapy training programs in Alberta 
  • discussion with members of health care professions that have gone through the regulation process in hopes of easing challenges

These consultations and discussions will conclude by the end of 2017.

More Information

For more information about the health professions act, the timeline of regulation in Alberta, or recent activities refer to the TC-CMTA.