Governments regulate health professions to protect the public from unqualified or unsafe health care providers. They create legislation that defines provider competency and requires safe and professional practice supported by a complaints process.

Massage Therapy Regulation

Massage therapy regulation takes place through a government-appointed panel called a College of Massage Therapists, which protects the public from harm and verifies the qualifications of its members.

The College has strict rules and protocols to support safety and determine the competencies of its members. It also requires them to follow a code of ethics, standards of practice, and title protection.

In Canada, massage therapy is regulated in British Columbia, Ontario, Newfoundland and Labrador, New Brunswick, and Prince Edward Island.

Regulation is being actively pursued in Alberta, Manitoba, Nova Scotia, and Saskatchewan. We are working with the government and other massage therapy associations toward regulation in each of these provinces.

Frequently Asked Questions About Massage Therapy Regulation

What does the College of Massage Therapists do?

What will it cost to join the College?

Do College fees include insurance?

Is an exam required to enter the College, and what would it involve?

What is grandfathering?

What changes can members expect after the College is formed?

What is the role of my association after regulation?

What can members do to help regulation progress?

What is the process for moving from an unregulated province to a regulated province?

What if I am not part of the College?

Who can I contact if I have other questions?

Regulatory Organizations in Canada

The Federation of Massage Therapy Regulatory Authorities of Canada (FOMTRAC)
College of Massage Therapists of British Columbia (CMTBC)
College of Massage Therapists of Ontario (CMTO)
College of Massage Therapists of Newfoundland and Labrador (CMTNL)
College of Massage Therapists of New Brunswick (CMTNB)
College of Massage Therapists of Prince Edward Island (CMPEI)