To safeguard our employees and visitors, the NHPC office itself is closed and staff are working remotely. See our COVID-19 Q & A for pandemic-specific information.

Massage Therapy Regulation in Nova Scotia

Current Status

The NHPC and the Massage Therapists Association of Nova Scotia (MTANS) have jointly proposed to the Nova Scotia Government Department of Health and Wellness (DHW) that the government regulate massage therapists in the province.

The DHW has not committed to regulation yet, but they have taken the step of protecting the use of titles in the practice of massage therapy as they consider the joint proposal.

The NHPC has fostered a good relationship with government staff and worked satisfactorily on the Title Protection of Registered Massage Therapists. We anticipate working with the other associations to have regulation of massage therapists happen in the next few years, possibly even 2021.


Act to Protect the Titles of Massage Therapists

In late 2019, the province of Nova Scotia announced the Act to Protect the Titles of Massage Therapists. The Act limits the use of "Massage Therapist," "Registered Massage Therapist," or similar titles to people who are qualified as a massage therapist under the guidelines the set out by the government.

This legislation is separate from regulation but adds an extra layer of protection to massage therapists who use the above titles.  

Effective January 1, 2020, associations must publish a public list of their members who practise massage therapy in Nova Scotia.


Registry of NHPC Massage Therapists in Nova Scotia

First Name Last Name City/Town
Susan Allaby Dartmouth
Jennifer Arnold Hammonds Plains
Erin Beecher Sydney
Dorota Bien East LaHave
Shelby Boyd Lakeview
Susan Conrad Dartmouth
Amanda Cox Middle Sackville
Julie d'Entremont Halifax
David Fillis Lower Sackville
Jennifer Fraser Kentville
Anya Gatin Skye Glen
Joseph Gower Bridgetown
Danielle Hutchinson Middle Sackville
Mia Lockhart Wolfville
Melissa Macaulay Halifax
Kayley McGibbon Lakeview
Shannon  McNabb Halifax
Laura Mosher Greenwood
Hani Mushahwar Halifax
David Oakie Annapolis Royal
Rebecca Rankin Mabou
Karen Sampson Dundee
Julia Sanders New Ross
Shirma Sandy Port Hawkesbury 
Dorothea Schmidt Lunenburg
Dev Sinanan Dartmouth
Hannah Steele Pictou
Emily Stewart Wolfville
Christa Wentzell Walton
Iman  Willoughby Halifax